Skip to Main Content
HOME
STAFF HOURS POLICIES FAQ
CATALOG CITATIONS ENDNOTE INTER-LIBRARY LOAN OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
ARCHIVES BEADLE SCHOLAR COURSE AND RESEARCH GUIDES DATABASES JOURNALS
Link to Library Homepage

Reusable Content

Contains content for re-use on DSU's libguides.

Use "Journal Finder" to Find Full Article

What if you need an article but only have the citation or abstract?

To find the full article, start with Journal Finder

A search of Journal Finder will tell you if the Mundt Library has access to the journal / magazine you seek

  • online in a research database    

OR  

  • in print in the library

Use Journal Finder to Find Full Article - in medical journal

What if you have found only a citation and abstract for an article, and you need the full article?

Your next step is to find out whether you can get the full article in another of the library's databases. To do that, use the Journal Finder. You can always find the link to Journal Finder on the Mundt Library homepage.

Journal Finder will tell you if the Mundt Library has access to the journal or magazine you need -- either 1) online in another database or 2)  in print in the library.

HOW TO USE JOURNAL FINDER.

  • Do a search for the title of the journal or magazine (not the title of the article!).
  • If your search in Journal Finder produces results, pay attention to what years of the magazine/journal are available in each database or in the library. Then link to a database to get to the journal article you need. Note: If in the results you find a link labeled "Dakota State University print holdings" then the article is in print in the library rather than online.

EXAMPLE 1--    I discover the following article while doing my research, but I have only this citation (not the full article):

Chapman, Harold. Toward Lung Regeneration.The New England Journal of Medicine 364,19 (May 12, 2011): 1867-1868.

The article is in the journal called The New England Journal of Medicine. With this information, I can go to Journal Finder and search for New England Journal of Medicine. If the title is found, Journal Finder indicates in which databases it's available and for which years.

When I search for New England Journal of Medicine, I get the following results in Journal Finder:

The New England journal of medicine  (0028-4793)     

from 09/19/1996 to 3 months ago in Discovery and ProQuest Research Library
from 1972-1977, 03/01/1981 to present in Dakota State University’s Print Holdings

By clicking on the link to Proquest Research Library, I get to a list of issues of New England Journal of Medicine and can select the May 12, 2011 issue. I can then find the specific article in that issue that I need in order to link to the full article.

NOTE: When linking into a database, you will be required to login with your library ID and password.

EXAMPLE 2--    I discover the following article while doing my research, but I have only this citation (not the full article):

Hewitt DJ. Can Reactive Airways Dysfunction Syndrome (RADS) Be Iatrogenic? Respiratory Care. 2011 Aug;56(8):1188-94.

The article is in the journal called Respiratory Care. With this information, I can go to Journal Finder and search for Respiratory Care. If the title is found, Journal Finder indicates in which databases it's available and for which years.

When I search for Respiratory Care, I get the following results in Journal Finder:

Respiratory care  (0020-1324)

from 1984 to present in Dakota State University’s Print Holdings

 

  • If your search produces results only in "Dakota State University's print holdings," then Madison campus students will go to the Library to get the article. Those who are at a university center or are distance students may request the item through Interlibrary Loan.
  • If your search in Journal Finder produces 0 results, the Library does not have the magazine or journal. To get the article you need, make an Interlibrary Loan Request and the Library will get the article for you from another library.

Finding an Article

Do you need to find an article but only have the citation or abstract?

To find the full article, start with Journal Finder!

Searching Journal Finder will tell you if the Mundt Library has access to the journal / magazine you seek.

The journal will be available in two formats:

  • online in a research database

OR

  • in print, through the library

Here's how to use Journal Finder

  • Step 1 - Go to Journal Finder.  (A link to Journal Finder can also be found on the Library's home page).

  • Step 2 - Enter and search for the title of the magazine, journal, or newspaper you want. 

 

QUICK TIP - enter the title of the journal in which the article appears, not the title of the article itself