Reusable Content

The Library's main e-book platforms (databases) are described more completely in other sections below. However, this section provides a brief synopsis of content and any limitations on simultaneous use.

Multidisciplinary

• eBook Collection (EBSCO) - academic content on a wide range of topics. No limit on simultaneous users of eBook Collection; no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - academic content on a wide range of topics. No limit on simultaneous users of GVRL; no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book.

Business

• Business Expert Press - curriculum-based e-books for students and entrepreneurs in business and management programs. No limit on simultaneous users of eBook Collection; no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book. 

Information Systems & Security

• InfoSECURITYnetBASE - academic content on information security. No limit on simultaneous users; no limit on simultaneous uses of the same e-book
• IGI Global - academic content on information security, health informatics, and information systems. No limit on simultaneous users; no limit on simultaneous uses of the same e-book
• O'Reilly for Higher Education

Popular fiction and non-fiction

• Overdrive - popular reading collection of fiction and non-fiction. No limit on simultaneous users of Overdrive; limited to one user of an e-book at a time (item is "checked out" to the user so is unavailable to other users during the checkout period)

EBSCO's eBook Collection contains a wide range of both scholarly and leisure reading containing:

• food
• true-crime
• biographies
• children and young adult fiction & non-fiction
• mind, body, and spirit

EBSCO e-books FAQS:

• What is the range of publication?  Through present day
• How many e-books are in the collection?   EBSCO provides access to over 215,000 e-books.
• Are there limits on simultaneous users? Nope!
• Can I read the full-text in my browser? Yep!
• Can I download the e-book to my computer/tablet/phone?
  Yes! BUT the "Full text" option is MUCH easier to use, compared to the laborious process of  downloading the book, especially if several people in a class need access. 
• Can I create create a permanent URL for the book? YES! 
  Use the "permanent url" link on the right side of the book screen to get permanent url for any page such as beginning of book, beginning of chapter, or a page within a chapter.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library has academic content on a wide range of topics, including material for Marketing classes and Cybersecurity. Find books related to Marketing and Business in the "Social Sciences" category and in the "Business" category. Find ebooks on Cybersecurity in the "Technology" category.

Find the Gale Virtual Reference Library by selecting it in the "Databases" under "Research" on the library home page menu.

Gale EBooks

Search several specialized encyclopedias at a single time with this resource. Provides good overview and background information on topics in business, literature, and much more.

Gale EBooks as hundreds of items with a primary focus on business/marketing and on cybersecurity.
There is no limit to the number of simultaneous users of an eBook and full text is available in a web browser.

Create Direct Links Using Permanent URLs:

• Click on the "Bookmark" button near the top of the GVRL screen to get a url for the page being displayed.
  • Get a URL for an entire ebook by going to the first page of the ebook (table of contents) and clicking on the Bookmark button
  • Get a bookmark for a chapter by going to the first page of the chapter and clicking on the Bookmark button.

• Examine the URL.  In order for off-campus users can access the link,  the URL must begin:
  http://www.ezproxy.dsu.edu/login?url= 
  
  If it doesn't, you must add the above URL to the front of the bookmark URL.  As an example, a completed URL would look like this:

http://www.ezproxy.dsu.edu/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX2592400020&v=2.1&u=sdln_dsu&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=7b31432634f3ba03efaf58060d27aaac

• Use the instructions for Logging into Library Databases when using Gale EBooks off campus.

CONTENT.  Academic content about information security.

Use the "Database Quicklinks" dropdown menu on the library home page to select InfoSECURITYnetBASE.

NUMBER OF BOOKS.  approximately 75

• 25% of chapters published in most recent two years.
• 97% of chapters published 2000-present

LIMITS ON SIMULTANEOUS USERS OF THE PLATFORM?    No limit

LIMITS ON SIMULTANEOUS USERS OF AN E-BOOK?   No limit  

READ FULL TEXT IN YOUR WEB BROWSER?    Yes.

DOWNLOAD TO DEVICE?    Individual chapters are pdfs that can be saved to a device.

CREATE PERMANENT URLS FOR DIRECT LINKS TO E-BOOKS OR E-BOOK PARTS.  Follow this procedure:

1. In search results, select a chapter to view.
2. Before opening the full document pdf, find the "Permalink" button at the bottom and click to display the permanent url for that chapter
3. Delete the chapter number at the end of that url to get the permanent url for the entire book.  

• For example:  http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/9781439815519.ch13 is the permanent url for a chapter. The permanent url of the book in which the chapter is contained is http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/9781439815519
• For example:  http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/EBK1439819029-p3  is the permanent url for a part of a book. The permanent url of the book in which it is contained is http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/EBK1439819029

An option for reducing textbook costs is to explore the library's e-book collections for potential course readings.

The purpose of this page is to provide information about the library's e-books in order for you to consider e-books or portions of e-books for your use.

• The main advantages for students and faculty are:

1. access online anywhere/anytime and
2. access for free through the library subscriptions or purchases (which can keep student costs down)

• The difficulty for faculty -- in addition to identifying readings that will fit a syllabus -- can be figuring out whether an e-book or section of it can be shared with students in a way that will work for the course. The two key factors to consider are:

1. the number of users who can simultaneously use the e-book platform and
2. the number of users who can simultaneously use the same e-book.

• This guide will provide the information you need about the library's e-books in order to use e-books or portions of e-books for courses.

• In the section immediately to the right is a "short & sweet" overview of library e-book options. That is followed by sections for each individual e-book platform, with in-depth information for use.

Reference

Graydon, B., Urbach-Buholz, B., & Kohen, C. (2011). A study of four textbook distribution models. EDUCAUSE Quarterly Magazine, 34(4). Retrieved from http://www.educause.edu/eq.

The e-book market is constantly changing. We expect this to continue as ebook publishing models evolve. 

Publishers have been known to pull their material from research databases. We can't protect you from such publisher actions.

• Keep a complete citation for any item you use so that the Library has the information it needs to find alternative access.
• For course use, we recommend that you have a number of required and optional e-readings lined up so that substitutions can be made in the event of the unlikely, but potential, disappearance of an e-book  or electronic article that you had intended to use. 

Download Instructions

Note: Download is not necessary; books can be read in a web browser by using the "ebooks Full Text" link instead of the "Download" link. 

Download EBSCO eBooks on your computer / tablet / phone:

1. Download an EBSCO eBook title by clicking on the “Download” link on the search result page or from within the detailed record.
2. You will be asked to login to your personal EBSCO account.
3. If you do not have an EBSCO account, you will need to create one to complete the download process - these credentials will be different from your DSU username/password.
4. Select your preferred checkout period and click “Checkout & Download

Download Adobe Digital Editions

*Adobe Digital Editions - this is the only viewer that can be used to read Downloaded EBSCO e-books.*

1. After downloading Digital Editions, you will be required to authorize your device with an Adobe ID. (You may need to create your Adobe profile.)
2. Once you have authorized your device, the loan should populate in the application.
3. If it does not appear, download the item again from the EBSCO window.