Skip to Main Content
HOME
STAFF HOURS POLICIES FAQ
CATALOG CITATIONS ENDNOTE INTER-LIBRARY LOAN OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS TESTING CENTER
ARCHIVES BEADLE SCHOLAR COURSE AND RESEARCH GUIDES DATABASES JOURNALS
Link to Library Homepage

Reusable Content

Contains content for re-use on DSU's libguides.

Find company profile, history, CEO, brands/products using Business Source Premier

About Company Profiles

A company profile provides a good overview of a company. The company profile is a report that compiles important pieces of information about a company. These profiles often include:

  • company history
  • a list of top officers ex: CEO and CFO
  • brands or product lists
  • market analysis
  • SWOT analysis

Public vs. Private Companies

Public companies are easier to research than private companies. Try to choose use a public company, in your project. 

If you choose to use a private company, try these strategies:

  • Do some simple, broad searches in Wikipedia to get some general information about your private company.
  • Once you have some names of private companies, come back to the databases and search. 

Step-by-Step Instructions for Business Source Premier

1. Access Business Source Premier database Lock symbol indicates that Library ID and password must be used to login when off the Madison campus.. 

2. Click on "Company Profiles" at top of search page in Business Source Premier. 

Company Profile in Business Source Premier Database Menu

 

3. Search for the company name in the "Browse" search box.

 

 

 

 


4. Find and select the company you are searching for and click on its "MarketLine Report." This will give you the company profile you are looking for!

Find recent news about a company using Business Source Premier

Finding News & More on Business Source Premier Lock symbol indicates that Library ID and password must be used to login when off the Madison campus.

  • Use the search bar on the main page to locate your company.
  • On the results page, use the filters under the search bar to find:
    • Academic Journals (peer-reviewed)
    • Magazines
    • Newspapers

You can use "Reports" or the "Source Type" to learn more about the company and its products including:

  • SWOT
  • Analysis Industry Profiles
  • Market Research

This video demonstrates how to search and locate specific types of information in Business Source Premier.

Video length: 3:55

Transcript Business Source Premier 2025_Captions_English (United States)

Using Database Tools to Cite and Save

This video demonstrates how to generate citations, save links to items you find in three different databases, and where to find guides to proofread citations. 

Video length: 3:47

Transcript_Using Database Tools to Cite and Save_Captions_English (United States)