How do I find newly published children's literature?
Continue below to learn more about journals that will lead you to new children's literature. [Note: Reviews in these journals will also show up in the results when you search for a particular subject, author, illustrator, etc. in research databases described in tab B. at the top of thi webpage.]
Publisher: American Library Association.
Frequency: Published twice a month.
Description:
The print journal includes numerous book reviews in each issue, in special sections for reviews. Reviews include age or grade level and run about 150 words. In the print journal, children's book reviews begin around middle of each issue, but see table of contents for exact location in each issue.
An author/title index is at the end of each issue.A cumulative index to reviews for the year appears in the August and February 15th issues.
The website provides links to some of each issues book reviews and features for free. To find all Booklist reviews online (not just the few on the web), follow the instructions below for access through Proquest.
Access -Online reviews: The Booklist web site provides some reviews for free; click on "Books for Youth" at the top of its home page to see reviews.
Access -Print issues: from 1939-2001 in Mundt Library. [Journal is also available by subscription at the Booklist web site http://www.booklistonline.com/]
Access -Online issues 
: Issues from 1997-present are in Proquest Research Library. Step-by-step instructions below describe how to find all Booklist reviews in Proquest. In the process described, you will first find the magazine in Proquest Research Library and then find out where in an issue the "Books for Youth" are located:
Publisher: University of Chicago Graduate Library School.
Frequency: Published 11 times/year.
Description: Each review indicates whether the book is recommended (the coding is actually more detailed than strictly "recommended" or "not recommended") and indicates its age or grade level, curricular use, and developmental values (in addition to the lengthy reviews).The print journal arranges reviews in alphabetical order by author.Codes used in the reviews are explained in the first couple of pages of each issue. Each issue now includes a "Subject and Use" index to the books reviewed in that issue. An annual index (author; title) appears in the July/August issue. For full issues of this journal online, find the journal in the database "Proquest Research Library." database. Some free reviews and features are available on the BCCB web site.
Access -Online issues : from 1998-present in Proquest Research Library. Use the "Publications" tab at the top of the Proquest window to search for the journal.
Access -Online issues: Some reviews and features are available for free on the BCCB web site.
Access -Print issues: from 1976-present in Library.
Publisher: Horn Book, Inc.
Frequency: Published 6 times/year.
Description:
About half of each issue of this journal is devoted to articles about important topics and issues in children's literature. The "booklist" section is divided into reviews of "picture books", "for young readers," "for intermediate readers," and "for older readers." These are followed by sections for folklore, poetry, and nonfiction.
Reviews are frequently long and labeled for age levels, and sometimes illustrations from the books are included. Reviews cover picture books through young adult levels.
Each individual print issue has an index; an annual cumulative index appears in the November/December issue. All of the reviews published during a six-month period are republished as The Horn Book Guide to Children’s and Young Adult Books (In print in Mundt Library at this location: Reference Z1037 .H675).
On its website, Horn Book, Inc. only provides a few sample reviews from the latest issue of the magazine. It also lists award and honor books from the Boston Globe/Horn Book Awards.
For the full issues, go to Proquest Research Library and use the "Publications" tab at the top of the Proquest window to search for Horn Book (or find a print copy in a library).
Access -Online issues : from 1992-present in Proquest Research Library. Use the "Publications" tab at the top of the Proquest window to search for Horn Book.
Access -Print issues: from 1933-present in Mundt Library.
Publisher: RR Bowker Co.
Frequency: Published monthly
Description:
This journal contains book reviews (and audiovisual and software reviews) for preschool and primary grades, grades 3-6, junior high and up, and young adult. Reviews a majority of the children's books published. Each print issue includes and author/illustrator index and a title index.
Access -Online issues : from 1992-present in Proquest Research Library. Use the "Publications" tab at the top of the Proquest window to search for School Library Journal.
Access -Print issues: from 1927-43 and 1962-2002 in Library.
Access -Online issues : from 1975-present in EBSCOhost MasterFile Premier. See instructions in the description below for finding the journal and book reviews in the database:
