With so many books being published each year, it can seem overwhelming to identify a specific book to be used for a particular purpose in your classroom.
Add to that a genuine desire for finding not just any book but just the right, excellent book, and you might despair. However, whenever a problem exists, someone develops a solution. This webpage describes three ways to find good children's books. You may use:
In the "Book reviews" section below, sources of book reviews include research databases, websites, and review indexes.
The "Selective Lists" section includes print publications, specialized databases, and websites that provide lists of books selected for quality.
Websites that list and describe award-winners are in the "Awards" section.
Continue below for resources in each of the above three categories. A fourth section below provides an example of using one of the selective lists (Children's Core Collection).
Book reviews provide you with opinions of others that can help you in selecting reading material for children. Keep in mind who is authoring the review, because the viewpoint of a parent in a customer review in Amazon may be entirely different from a teacher or librarian review in a children's literature journal. Depending on your intended use, one or the other may be more helpful or both viewpoints may lead to insights. Ultimately, you have to make the final selection, but reviews can help narrow your selection process to a few highly-regarded items.
Book reviews may be found using research databases, specialized websites, and book review indexes:
a. Research databases provide access to book reviews
1. HOW TO SEARCH: Do a keyword search for the author or title of the item for which you need a book review and combine it with the word review* (where the asterisk * is a wildcard character and will retrieve either the word "review" or the word "reviews.")
For example:
harry potter and review*2. RESEARCH DATABASES: Use these research databases to search for book reviews.
a). Academic Search Premier
Online: Use link above or use the "Database Quicklinks" dropdown menu in the top right corner of Library web pages to select Academic Search Premier.b) Proquest Research Library
Online: Use link above or use the "Database Quicklinks" dropdown menu in the top right corner of the Library's home page to select Proquest Research Library.
b. Some websites organize reviews of children's books. Examples are:
- Bookhive: Your Guide to Children's Literature, Public Library of Charlotte-Mecklenburg (North Carolina) County, http://www.bookhive.org. "BookHive is a web site designed for children ages birth through twelve, their parents, teachers or anyone interested in reading about children's books. Providing reader's advisory service, this site contains hundreds of recommended book reviews in a variety of reading levels and interest areas. Parents may find special "parental notes" attached to some reviews that provide additional information about the book. Users can search for books by author, title, reading level, interest area, number of pages, and even favorite illustrator." Use the "Advanced Search" link to search for book reviews.
- Kidsreads.com, http://www.kidsreads.com/. Kidsreads provides book reviews and author interviews for children along with games and contests. Browse by author, title, keyword.
- Reviews, National Center for the Study of Children's Literature, San Diego State University, http://www-rohan.sdsu.edu/~childlit/reviews/reviews.htm. Reviews are provided by the NCSCL at San Diego State University.
c. Book review indexes help you find book reviews. These may be in print or online at your local library.
- The example below is a print index that provides access to reviews published in the twentieth century.
Book Review Digest -- (1905-1991 in Mundt Library).
New York: Wilson Co.
Print volumes: in Mundt Library from 1901-1991 with call number: Reference Z1219 .C96
Print version ... is arranged alphabetically by authors’ last names. Compiles reviews for fiction and non-fiction books for adults, young adults, and children. Each entry includes a description of book (quoted from a review or publisher's note) and excerpts from several reviews of the book. Indexed by subject and title. Look in subject index under "children's Literature" (this heading may vary from one year to another; see Preface for heading used) for listing of children's books alphabetically by author.
Selective lists are lists of the best books for specific topics, purposes, grade levels, etc.
Selections may be made by a group of literature specialists (e.g., educators, librarians, etc.), by a special interest group (e.g., parents), or by a single specialist. The selective lists may be on the web for free, available online in subscriptions journals or databases, or may be published as print books.
a. Online databases of children's literature are specifically designed and organized to help you find books for particular topics, purposes, grade levels. These may be available at your local library.
1) Children's Core Collection (formerly Children's Catalog) --
Published by H.W. Wilson Co.
Print volumes and supplements in Mundt Library with call number: Reference Z 1037 .C5443
Online : Select "Children's Core Collection"
Provides a list of preschool to 6th grade children's books that is selected and voted on by a committee of children's librarians and instructors of children's lit -- so all these books are recommended. (The print edition is published every 4-5 years and supplements to the current edition are published each year. )
Each entry includes publisher, price, grade level,a brief annotation, and sources of reviews. The print edition has a combined author, title, subject, and an analytical (i.e. author, title, subject for parts of books) index follows. Includes fiction, easy books, and more.
Providing the same approach for upper grade levels and special media:
a) Middle and Junior High School Core Collection (formerly Middle and Junior High School Catalog)
In print in Mundt Library with call number -- Reference Z1037 .J854
Online : Select "Mid and Jr H Core Collection"
b) Senior High Core Collection
In print in Mundt Library with call number -- Reference Z1035 .S42
Online : Select "Senior High Core Collection"
c) Graphic Novels Core Collection
In print in Mundt Library with call number -- Reference Z1035 .S42
Online : Select "Graphic Novels Core Collection"
2) AR BookFinder .
Wisconsin: Renaissance Learning.
Online on web at AR BookFinder
Search for books by author, readability level, point value, and topic.
b. Print publications are specifically designed and organized to help you find books for particular topics, purposes, grade levels. These may be available at your local library.
1) Best Books for Children: Preschool Through Grade 6.
New York: Bowker.
In print in Library with call number: Reference Z1037 .B547
Briefly annotated listing of about 13,000 recommended books for recreational reading and school curriculum. Indexes include: authors/illustrators, titles, biographical subjects, subjects.This source is particularly useful if you are searching for particular types of literature such as historical fiction realistic fiction or biography...
Providing the same approach for upper grade levels:
Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers (in print in Mundt Library with call number -- REFERENCE Z1037 .G482) and
Best Books for High School Readers (in print in Mundt Library with call number -- REFERENCE Z1037 .G4816)
2) Here are examples of others that help you identify good books by subject, grade level, and other criteria.
This list is intended to give you an idea of the range of selective lists that you might find, although some of these are getting old.
Beyond Picture Books: A Guide to First Readers.
By Barbara Barstow & Judith Riggle.
New York: RR Bowker, 1989 & 1995
In print in Library with call number: REFERENCE Z1037 .B278 1995
Lists and annotates a selected set of books intended for children at a first or second grade level (occasionally third). Includes a special list of outstanding first readers. Indexes include: Subject, Title, Illustrator, Readability, and Series.
Black Books Galore: Guide to Great African American children's Books
by Donna Rand.
REFERENCE Z1037.N39 R33 1998
Graphic Novels: A Genre Guide to Comic Books, Manga, and More,
by Michael Pawuk.
Reference PN6710 .P38 2007
This annotated bibliography for graphic novels is broken into chapters that focus on different types of fiction such as super-heroes, science fiction, humor, and horror. There is also a chapter on non-fiction.
Author, Illustrator, Title, and Subject Indexes provide ways to locate material in the annotations.
Guide Book to Gift Books: An Annotated List of Books for Youth
University of Illinois.
Reference Z1037.A1 G85
This annotated bibliography of books appropriate as gifts.
More Exciting, Funny, Scary, Short, Different, and Sad Books Kids Like about Animals, Science, Sports, Families, Songs, and Other Things
Reference Z 1037 .C294 1992
Notes from a Different Drummer: A Guide to Juvenile Fiction Portraying the Handicapped. New York:
Bowker,1977. (Covers works from 1940-1975.)
In print in the Library at call number: Reference Z1037.9 .B37
More Notes from a Different Drummer.... New York: Bowker, 1984. (Covers 1976-1981.)
In print in the Library at call number: Reference Z1037.9 .B36 1984
Annotations are arranged alphabetically by author.
Indexes: title and subject.
Annotation consists of plot description, excerpts, and analysis. Coded for reading level.
Cultural Journeys: Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults,
by Pamela S. Gates and Dianne L. Hall Mark.
Reference PN1009.5 .M84 G38 2006
Each chapter explores a different genre -- fairy tales, realistic fiction, etc. Embedded in the narrative are descriptions of recommended works of literature about various themes.
Picture Books: An Annotated Bibliography with Activities for Teaching Writing.
In print in the Library at call number: Reference Z1037 .A1 C85 1998
Picture Books for Children.
In print in the Library at call number: Reference Z1037 .C565 1990
Describes specific books appropriate for specific topics. Provides an introductory section on choosing picture books.
Portraying persons with disabilities : an annotated bibliography of fiction for children and teenagers
by Debra Robertson.
New Providence, N.J. : R.R. Bowker, c1992.
In print in the Library at call number: Reference Z1037.9 .R63 1992
Portraying persons with disabilities : an annotated bibliography of nonfiction for children and teenagers
by Joan Brest Friedberg, June B. Mullins, Adelaide Weir Sukiennik.
New Providence, N.J. : R.R. Bowker, c1992.
In print in the Library at call number: Reference Z1037.9 .F735 1992
These two books provide information about books which portray persons with disabilities. One focuses on fiction and the other on non-fiction.
Special Needs Reading List: An Annotated Guide to Best Publications for Parents & Professionals.
by Wilma Sweeney
In print in the Library at call number: REFERENCE Z5814.C52 S84 1998
Storytelling for Young Adults: A Guide to Tales for Teens.
by Gail de Vos
Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2003 (2nd edition).
Reference Z718.5 .D4 2003
Focused on telling stories to young adults, each chapter addresses a particular type of story: romance, horror, folktales, etc. Written for storytellers, teachers, and librarians, each chapter has an introduction to understanding the type of story and then provides an annotated bibliography of stories recommended for telling to teens.
Author, Title, and Theme indexes are at the end of the book.
Young Adult Poetry: A Survey and Theme Guide.
by Rachel Schwedt and Janice DeLong
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Reference PS309 .Y69 S39 2002
The main body of this guide is an annotated bibliography of books that contain poetry for young adults.
The key to using the Guide is the "Thematic Guide to Poem" that follows the bibliography. It indexes all the poems contained in all the books; look up a theme such as identity, humor, rejection, recreation and find a list of poems. Each poem has a number that links it back to the annotation of the book in which it was published.
There are also indexes of book writers, book authors, and book illustrators at the end of the Guide.
c. Websites that are reliable can help you find books for specific topics, purposes, grade levels. Some examples include:
American Indians in children's Literature, Debbie Reese. http://americanindiansinchildrensliterature.blogspot.com/ The subtitle of this blog is "Critical perspectives of indigenous peoples in children's books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society-at-large."
Children's Picture Book Database, Miami University. http://www.lib.muohio.edu/pictbks/ a bibliography for designing literature-based thematic units for all disciplines, including health education. Database contains abstracts of over 5000 picture books for children, preschool to grade 3. Search over 900 keywords (topics, concepts, and skills) to locate books with storylines adaptable to your curriculum or program.
Cooperative Children's Books Center (CCBC), University of Wisconsin. http://www.education.wisc.edu/ccbc/ Link to "K-12 Teacher", etc. along top or use links in left navigation bar to find book lists on specific topics for specific age groups.
Children's and YA Literature Resources, Cynthia Leitich Smith. http://www.cynthialeitichsmith.com/lit_resources/cyalr_index.html
Children's Literature Web Guide, de Grummond Children's Literature Collection, Univ. of Southern Mississippi. http://www.lib.usm.edu/~degrum/html/relatedsites/rs-cl-webguide.shtml
Mashantucket Pequot children's Library. http://www.pequotmuseum.org/Home/LibrariesArchives/CHILDRENSLIBRARY/AboutTheChildrensLibrary.htm See the bibliographies, award winners, and featured books.
New Jewish Values Finder: A Guide to Values in Jewish children's Books, Assoc. of Jewish Libraries. http://www.ajljewishvalues.org/ Site includes a searchable database of children's books, lists of notable books and award books.
YALSA Booklists, Young Adult Library Services Association. http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/yalsa/booklistsawards/booklistsbook.cfm#booklists Provides selective lists for audiobooks, films, graphic novels, and more.
Another way of identifying good books is to look for award-winners. Below you'll find a database for searching for award-winning books, a directory of award sites, and some examples of award websites. All can be used to find award-winning children's books.
a. Database
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature, Lisa R. Bartle
http://www.dawcl.com/
Search by grade, genre, and many more options to find books that have won awards. Includes a wide range of awards.
b. Web directory
Book Awards -Yahoo links to book award sites
http://www.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/Literature/Genres/Children_s/Book_Awards/
Includes links to Caldecott, Newbery and other awards.
c. Award websites
Caldecott Medal
Chicago: ALA
http://ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/caldecottmedal/caldecottmedal.cfm
The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children
Coretta Scott King Book Award
Chicago: ALA
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/rts/emiert/cskbookawards/recipients.cfm
Provides list of past and current winners of this book award.
Newbery Medal
Chicago: ALA
http://ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/newberymedal/newberyhonors/newberymedal.cfm
Lists and describes award winners from 1922-present. Awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Notable children's Books (current)
http://ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/childrensnotable/index.cfm
See links on same webpage: Great Interactive Software for Kids, Notable children's Recordings, and Notable children's Videos.
Notable books from earlier years may be found in published volumes such as the following:
Notable children's Books 1971 - 1975.
Chicago: ALA, 1981.
In print in the Library at call number: Reference Z1037 .A4955 1981
Notable children's Books 1940 - 1970.
Chicago: ALA, 1977.
In print in the Library at call number: Reference Z1037 .A4955 1977
Recommended children's (through age 14) books listed alphabetically by author. Indexes: age-level, title, illustrator. (No subject index).
Prairie Bud Award Winners
http://sdlibraryassociation.org/home/prairiepasqueb.asp
(Grade K-3)
The Prairie Bud children's Book Award, sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association, is determined by kindergarten through third grade students throughout South Dakota
Read more information about the Award.
Prairie Pasque Award Winners
http://sdlibraryassociation.org/home/prairiepasquep.asp
(Grade 4-6)
The Prairie Pasque children's Book Award, sponsored by the South Dakota Library Association, is determined by fourth, fifth, and sixth grade students throughout South Dakota
Read more information about the Award.
YALSA Book Awards, Young Adult Library Services Association
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/yalsa/booklistsawards/booklistsbook.cfm#awards
Children's Core Collection is one of the sources described elsewhere on the page as a "selective list." As an example of how it can be used, here we provide explicit step-by-step procedures for using it to find children's literature on rocks and minerals for the sixth grade.
Background. The purpose of Children's Core Collection (CCC) is to identify recommended books. This helps you find “good” books among the many published, but you will still have to decide which ones to use. If professional reviews of a book have been published, those are listed in CCC. If not, then you may have to find other sources of information about the books to help you decide which you want to use. In most cases, the books won’t be in the local library, so you will have to request them through Interlibrary Loan. Therefore,youy’ll have to use reviews and any information you can gather to figure out which of the books listed in Wilsonweb are worth requesting from the library.
Process.
Here are some quick directions for finding materials for 6th graders on rocks and minerals:
SEARCH
1.Go to the Mundt Library homepage and find the “Database Quicklinks” dropdown menu on the upper right side.
2. Select Wilsonweb (if off-campus, you will need to login with your library ID and password)
3. In Wilsonweb, choose the collection you want to search at the top of the page by clicking the checkbox. Children’s Core Collection covers books for K-6. You may also want to look at Middle School and Junior High.
4. As and example, select Children’s Core Collection by clicking its checkbox
5. In the “Advanced Options” below the search boxes, you may want to select some options to meet your specific requirements – for example, limit publication date to “newer than” 2005 and grade level to grade 6 (and you could also limit to fiction or non-fiction). NOTE: Set Recommendation level to “Narrowest.”
6. Then in the top search box, enter a search for: rocks OR minerals
An image of the search screen can be seen to the right --->
7. Click the Start button to do the search..
EXPLORE
8. Explore the results. Click the titles to get more information about them. You may see lots of irrelevant items because of the multiple meaning of “rocks” but its fairly fast to scan the titles and find
that #14 (about fossils and extinct species) is the only one relevant.
READ REVIEWS
9.Review sources of #14 are listed, so professional reviews can be read to decide whether #14 is worth further consideration.
SEARCH AGAIN
10. Since not enough items were found with the first search, go back to the search screen; leave everything the same except change Recommendation level to “Core” and Start the search again.
11. Now you have more items to explore.If the title has been reviewed, the review sources will be given.
FIND OTHER REVIEWS OF THE BOOKS
12. HOWEVER, mostly non-fiction books show up in the results and, apparently, this is not a publishing topic that gets heavily reviewed.
So, you have to find some other place to learn about these books (find reviews).
13. To search for reviews, search databases such as Academic Search Premier and Proquest Research Library by combining the word “reviews” with the title of the book. For example,
I found some information about the book “Everything Rocks and Minerals” by going to Academic Search Premier and entering the search:
“everything rocks and minerals” AND reviews
14. When no professional reviews are listed in Wilsonweb for a particular book and you can’t find reviews by searching the journal databases, you can look for information about the book elsewhere. For example, search for each title in Amazon to get reviews by people who have purchased the books (teachers or parents).
GET BOOKS
14. Once you’ve selected a short list of books you might want to use, find them in the local library or request that the library get the books through interlibrary loan.
