1. Specialized research databases and indexes for finding literary biography and encyclopedic works
a. Contemporary Authors Cumulative Index
Published by Gale Cengage
Online called "Gale's Literary Index" -- www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
In print in Library with call number: Reference Z1224 .C6
Use this index to locate information on authors in several biographical/critical encyclopedias, including Something About the Author (Reference PN 451 .S6), Dictionary of Literary Biography (various call numbers), and Contemporary Literary Criticism (Reference PN771 .C65).
When one of these encyclopedias is found to have information about an author, distance students may request that the library email the information to them through Interlibrary Loan. On-campus students may find these encyclopedias in the Library.
b. Some author biographies may also be found in general biographical research indexes such as Current Biography (Reference CT 100 .C8).
2. General and educational research databases
(See "Learn about Children's Lit" tab)
3. Books about authors and their works
NOTE: The Mundt Library can mail books to distance students.
To request a book or other library material located at the Mundt Library or at another library, go to our interlibrary loan page.
a. Do a search for the author's name in the Library Catalog to find books in the Mundt Library about the author.
b. Search author's name in Worldcat.org to find books in other libraries.
[For items not at the Mundt Library, on-campus and distance students may request items through Interlibrary Loan. On-campus students pick up the books at the Library after they are notified of arrival.]
4. Sources of biographical information.
These are examples. For more, search the Library Catalog
Other libraries will have the same or similar sources.
American Writers for Children before 1900.
Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 42.
Detroit: Gale Research, 1985.
In print in Library with call number: Reference PS490 .A44 1985
American Writers for Children, 1900-1960.
Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 22. 1983.
In print in Library with call number: Reference PS490 .A43 1983
American Writers for Children Since 1960: Fiction.
Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 52. 1986.
In print in Library with call number: Reference PS374 .C454 A4 1986
American Writers for Children Since 1960: Poets, Illustrators and Non-Fiction Authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 61. 1987.
In print in Library with call number: Reference PS490 .A45 1987
These volumes provide in-depth biographies and information (including bibliographies) about author's works.
Authors and Illustrators of children's Books: Writings on Their Lives and Work.
New York: Bowker, 1972.
In print in Library with call number: Reference PN 1009 .A1 H58
In-depth articles with bibliographies.
Children's authors (Yahoo links to children's authors)
http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/Literature/Authors/Children_s/
Evaluate this material carefully to make sure it is authored by specialists who know what they are writing about.
Contemporary Authors
Detroit: Gale.
annual; cumulative index.
In print in Library with call number: Reference Z1224 .C6
Leads to biographical and critical information about authors.
Dictionary of American children's Fiction, 1960-1984: Recent Books of Recognized Merit.
New York: Greenwood, 1986.
In print in Library with call number: Reference PS 374 .C454 H45 1986
The subject index at the end of the volume can lead to specific types of literature. The main body of the work is an alphabetical listing of characters in and titles of children's literature.
Eighth Book of Junior Authors and Illustrators
New York: H.W. Wilson Co., 2000.
Just One More Book
http://www.justonemorebook.com/category/interviews/
Series of podcasts about children's authors and books. Browse by authors name or category.
Something About the Author: Facts & Pictures About Authors and Illustrators of books for Young People.
Detroit: Gale
In print in Library with call number: Reference PN 451 .S6
Use index in latest volume to look up your author or illustrator. In-depth biography for each person includes personal data, career information, awards and honors, writings, and autobiographical description by author.
Twentieth Century children's Writers
New York: St James Press, 1995.
In print in Library with call number: Reference PN 1009 .A1 T9 1995
Over 600 writers. English language authors of fiction, poetry and dramas. Entry for each writer consists of biography, complete list of separately published books, and signed critical essay.
Writers for Children
New York: Scribners, 1988
In print in Library with call number: Reference PN 1009 .A1 W73 1987
Critical essays on important writers of children's literature from 17th century to early 20th century.
