Karl Mundt Library: Information Systems, Information Assurance, and Computer Science Resources: Books, Manuals, Handbooks

Find...books, films and other materials...in libraries

You can identify relevant books -- online books and print books -- by searching library catalogs. To get print items at other libraries, request them through the Mundt Library's Interlibrary Loan service. Distance students may also request print items from the Mundt Library using the Interlibrary request form.

Use the following databases to find books in libraries.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog is an index or database of items that the Mundt Library owns or to which the Mundt Library subscribes. Use this database to find books, e-ebooks, videos, CDs and DVDs, and print magazines and journals. If you are accessing the library catalog from off-campus, log in with DSU Network Username and password.

Find...books...in research databases

Additional online books may be found in the following databases. When off the main Madison campus, you will need to login with your DSU ID and password.

IGI-Global Gateway This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides over 5,000 reference books focusing on information science and technology trends. This database provides the most up to date research from prestigious researchers worldwide from 11 subject areas ranging from business, computer science, education, engineering, environmental, government, library science, medical, media and communications, social sciences, and security.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to 10-20 Elsevier journals, including Decision Support Systems, Journal of Computer and System Sciences, Journal of Systems and Software, Computers and Security, International Journal of Medical Informatics, Artificial Intelligence in Medicine, and Journal of Biomedical Informatics, etc. This search will also find articles that will need to be requested via interlibrary loan.

About books, manuals, handbooks, encyclopedias

Use the research databases described in other sections of this web page to find books.

The content of books, whether print or online, can take a number of different forms.

The book might be a monograph, focused on one cohesive topic, with all chapters written by the same person or people.
The book might be a collection of articles about a subject area but with each chapter by different authors.
Manuals have the specific purpose of providing instructions; for example, a software manual will describe how to use a software package.
Handbooks are intended to give data, formulas, and other technical material that is needed on a regular basis in a particular discipline.
A specialized encyclopedia provides overviews of topics relevant to a specific specialized subject area to help someone who is new to the subject understand basic concepts and issues.

Examples of encyclopedias and handbooks

Encyclopedia of information assurance, 4 volumes. Edited by Rebecca Herold and Marcus K. Rogers. Boca Raton, FL : Auerbach Publications, c2011. Location in library -- QA76.9.D314 E53 2011.
Developments in Healthcare Information Systems and Technologies: Models and Methods. Author(s)/Editor(s): Joseph Tan. IGI Global, 2011. [Link requires you to login when off-campus]
E-Health Systems Quality and Reliability: Models and Standards. Edited by Anastasius Moumtzoglou and Anastasia Kastania. IGI Global, 2011. [Link requires you to login when off-campus]
The Princeton companion to mathematics. Edited by Timothy Gowers ; associate editors, June Barrow-Green, Imre Leader. Princeton : Princeton University Press, c2008. Location in Library -- QA11.2 .P745 2008
Encyclopedia of cybercrime. Edited by Samuel C. McQuade, III. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2009. Location in Library -- HV6773 .E53 2009
Encyclopedia of decision making and decision support technologies, 2 volumes. Edited by Frédéric Adam, Patrick Humphreys. Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2008. Location in Library -- HD30.213 .E527 2008

Examples of manuals.

Designing mobile interfaces. By Steven Hoober and Eric Berkman. Sebastopol, CA : O'Reilly, 2012. Location in Library -- COMPUTER MANUALS QA76.59 .H67 2012
Penetration tester's open source toolkit. By Jeremy Faircloth. Waltham, MA : Elsevier/Syngress, c2011. COMPUTER MANUALS QA76.9.A25 P435 2011