Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty/Staff: Tips from the Library: Basic Services

Provides tips about library resources and services for all staff. Also includes library resources for teaching and research such as copyright, selecting a publisher, and textbook alternatives.

Accessing Databases from Off-Campus

Faculty and staff must have a DSU Library ID number, which appears on the DSU photo ID, to borrow materials and equipment from the library. The ID number is also needed to login to library databases from off-campus when asked for a "username" or "barcode". The password for login is your last name. New employees may obtain this number by getting a photo ID card from the Student Services Center in accordance with DSU policy. Having your ID with you each time you check out material or equipment will save you time at the library main desk.

These resources are available on and off campus, 24 hours a day. Most library databases are available on the library homepage under "Database Quicklinks". Librarians will be happy to answer your questions and/or to show you how to use these tools as the interfaces change or suggest how to incorporate them into coursework. For instruction or help,

Equipment

The library has a range of audio visual, computer, and presentation equipment available for loan to faculty. You can stop by the library to check out the items, but to ensure that the item will be available, you can make a reservation by contacting Shannon Vostad.

Some of the equipment that is available includes:

  • Digital camcorders/cameras
  • Computer projectors
  • Projector screens
  • Netbooks
  • Easels
  • Audio recorders
  • Computer speakers

Course Reserves

Faculty members place material on reserve so that their students in a course can be guaranteed access to the items. When placing items on reserve, the faculty member selects whether the item will be checked out for 4-hours (for use in the library), for 24 hours, for 3 days or for 14 days.

Items that are placed on reserve can be owned by the library or by the faculty member.

The form to request items to be placed on reserve can be found here.

Finding a Periodical

There are many times when you need to know if the library has the full text to a periodical. This process is easily completed by using Journal Finder. Journal Finder will tell you if the Mundt Library has access to the journal or magazine you need -- either 1) online in another database or 2)  in print in the library.

Instructions are available, and a video of this process can be found here.

If the item is not available, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Request Item through Interlibrary Loan

Request "Interlibrary Loan" when you need materials (journal articles, books, etc.) that are not available in the Mundt Library and are not accessible online through the Library Catalog or through Journal Finder.

  • NOTE TO DISTANCE STUDENTS: Distance students may use the Interlibrary Loan forms to request delivery of materials to them -- whether located in the Mundt Library or in another library.

Interlibrary Loan is a service in which libraries borrow from and loan materials to other libraries.

  • You will receive journal articles electronically via email or a weblink.
  • Hardcopy items such as books are mailed to the Mundt Library where they are picked up by Madison campus students or they are mailed to distance students.

Information about Interlibrary Loan may be found on the Interlibrary Loan webpage.  You can also find the Interlibrary Loan webpage by using the "Services" dropdown link on the top of the library homepage.

Collection Requests

If you have an item that you would like to see added to the collection to support your teaching, please make a request to Jan Enright.

Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042
605-256-5203