Skip to Main Content

Link to Library Homepage

ABOUT ARCHIVES BEADLE SCHOLAR COURSE AND RESEARCH GUIDES INTER-LIBRARY LOAN OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS

SPCM 215: Finding Various Resources

Tips for Finding Resources

Below is a listing of some common information needs with tips on where and how to locate them.

Need	Source	Search Tip	Comment	Videos Related to Search
Background information on a topic. Overview of a topic. History of a topic.	Subject encyclopedia	In the Library Catalog, limit your search to the reference collection. Perform a search using the subject you are interested in and encyclopedia. For example in a search for the history of the pacemaker, type medicine and encyclopedia. The electronic database Credo Reference provides access to numerous reference works. These are available online and in full text. The electronic database Gale Virtual Reference also provides you access to multiple reference works. These are available online and in full text.	There are more encyclopedias than World Book and Encarta. Subject encyclopedias offer detailed content on a vast array of topics.	Library Catalog
In-depth look at a topic	Book	The Library Catalog searches the physical collection of the Mundt Library including books and e-books. To search the holdings of thousands of libraries use WorldCat. After finding a book, you may request it using the library's Interlibrary Loan service. Google Books searches the full text of millions of books. Assorted chapters and some complete books will be available online.	Often you will not read an entire book while doing research. To find the portions of the book focused on your topic use the Table of Contents and Index.	Library Catalog
Information on a controversial topic. Pros/Cons of an issue.		There are several databases that provide good starting points for information on persuasive issues. Opposing Viewpoints offers the pros and cons of an issue. Along with viewpoints this database also provides full text access to reference works, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary sources, statistics, multimedia, and web sources. CQ Researcher offers a full report on contemporary issues. The reports include an introduction, background, outlook, pro/con, maps/graphs, chronology and bibliography.	When preparing a persuasive or argumentative paper or speech you will often use statistics and testimonial to highlight your points.
Current research. Empirical study.	Journal article	There are journals written in all disciplines. These journals are contained within the periodical databases which the library subscribes to. In order to discover which databases contain sources on your topic, use the Research Databases by Subject link. Academic Search Premier ProQuest Research Library	Research articles from journals are one of the most highly utilized resource when conducting research for course assignments. You can focus your search within these databases by adding debate or controver* to your keywords.	Research Databases by Subject Journal Finder Interlibrary Loan
Statistics	Statistical Websites and Databases	Statista Statista provides statistics on a wide range of topics in the form of charts/graphs, infographics, industry reports and dossiers, and forecasts. Re-use or adapt their charts, powerpoints, data and reports in courses, on websites, etc. (with credit to Statista). The embed code and URLs are provided. Download charts as graphic (png), Excel (xls), Powerpoint (ppt), or pdf. Many government sites also provide statistics. Some examples include: the U.S. Census, Department of Education, and Federal Bureau of Investigations. http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Reference-Shelf/Data.shtml Data.gov	Statistics can be found in numerous resources. They are often provided just as numbers without discussion. Sometimes to takes a bit of time to understand what the data tables are saying.
Global Information	Databases and Websites	There are a number of places you can go to find information on other countries. AtoZ The World -- Provides economic, social, cultural information by country. Select a country, and then use the navigation menu to explore the wide range of content including customs, business etiquette, and more. Serves as an in-depth encyclopedia of nations. Database Search. BBC Country Profiles - country profiles compiled by the British Broadcasting Corporation http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/country_profiles/default.stm Business Source Premier - search for articles on your country. Also, use Country Reports to find information on various aspects of your countries. Database Search. CIA World Factbook -- country profiles and maps from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/	Consider the source of your information when looking at information on other countries. Bias can be critical in these instances.
Interviews		One location to find printed articles is through the database Academic Search Premier. To find interviews in the database use the Advanced Search. In the Advanced Search go to Document Type and choose interview. Type your topic in the search box to find an interview on that topic.