Karl Mundt Library: Science &amp; Math Resources: Journal articles for professionals

Introduction to journal articles for professionals

Use research databases below to locate articles published in journals. By carefully choosing databases appropriate to your topic, you can retrieve numerous articles with a few well-designed searches.

Continue below to find sections listing research databases that cover:

multiple sciences and math
agriculture
biology
chemistry
mathematics
medicine and allied health
physics

Note: The lock symbol means that login is required when off-campus

Research databases covering multiple sciences

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides citations and abstracts for articles published in highly cited journals and across a broad range of subjects/topics. Use the "Links" button associated with each article to find out if the full article is available online through the Mundt Library and to connect to the full article. This very scholarly resource includes the Web of Science Core Collection (Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Index Expanded), BIOSIS Preview, Current Contents, Medline, and SciELO. The Web of Science Core Collection and SciELO provide the ability to do citation searching as well as the more usual keyword searching for articles. Citation searching allows you to find later articles that have cited an important earlier article. This is the reverse of the often-used technique of using article bibliographies to find earlier key articles. By doing a citation search for a key article, you find any more recently published articles that have cited that key article.

Agriculture

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for materials on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Thousands of AGRICOLA records are linked to online full-text documents.

Biology

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents. BIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal content, from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). This Web of Knowledge database includes such subjects as pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and environmental and consumer issues.

Quertle
Quertle is a search engine developed specifically for the life sciences and intended to provide better search results. It searches MEDLINE/PubMed® as provided by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM) (see Terms) and full-text documents from BioMed Central and Open Access articles from PubMed Central. In addition, Quertle covers the NIH RePORTER database of grant applications and the National Library of Medicine's TOXLINE database of biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Quertle also searches News (as reported by FierceMarkets Life Sciences and Health Care) so that you can find late-breaking information without waiting for full publication) and scientific whitepapers and research posters submitted to Quertle.

Chemistry

SciFinder for Continuing Users This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primarily focused on chemistry, this research database provides access to citations and abstracts (and to some full articles). Not only can you "Explore References" in SciFinder (to find journal articles & patents), but also you can "Explore Substances" and "Explore Reactions" for organic and inorganic substance information. After logging into SciFinder, use the Help link in the upper right corner to learn how to get the most from SciFinder features and functionality.

Mathematics

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an index to the world's mathematical literature since 1940, with bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered. To get the full text of an article, check the Library's journal list; if journal is not available full text through the journal list, then request "Interlibrary Loan" and the Library will get it for you.
MathSciNet on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet provides reviews of mathematics journal articles and other publications. The EBSCOhost version provides citation and abstract for each review and a link to the review on the MathSciNet website.

Medicine and Allied Health

Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed citations often include links to the full-text article on the publishers' Web sites and/or in PubMed Central and the Bookshelf. [MEDLINE is the largest subset of PubMed. You may limit your PubMed search retrieval to MEDLINE citations by restricting your search to the MeSH controlled vocabulary or by using the Journal Categories filter called MEDLINE.]

Physics

IOP Science Extra This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of astronomy, astrophysics, biological physics, chemistry, engineering, environment, mathematics, physics and medical physics. Provides full-text journal content provided by IOP Publishing (an arm of the Institute of Physics) plus additional material. Includes over 60 journals, 14 years of Proquest Dissertations & Theses, e-prints from eprintweb.org, Physics World Archive, and more. Search results are shown in separate tabs for IOP, e-prints, Proquest Dissertations & Theses, etc.