Karl Mundt Library: Health Information Administration Research Guide: Research medical/disease topics

Introduction

This page will lead you to sources for researching topics in health and medicine.

Continue below to:

Find in-depth information in monographs (books) and find non-print material such as videos, audios, software, and multimedia.

Find current information in magazine and journal articles and reports.

Find facts & statistics about health, diseases, drug therapies, clinical trials, etc.

Find definitions and overviews in medical dictionaries and encyclopedias about diseases and other health topics

The lock symbol Lock symbol indicates that Library ID and password must be used to login when off the Madison campus. indicates that access is restricted to students, faculty and staff of Dakota State University.

Find in-depth information in monographs (books) and find non-print material such as videos, audios, software, and multimedia

Search for books and non-print material using the following databases:

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog is an index or database of items that the Mundt Library owns or to which the Mundt Library subscribes. Use this database to find books, e-ebooks, videos, CDs and DVDs, and print magazines and journals. If you are accessing the library catalog from off-campus, log in with DSU Network Username and password.

Bookshelf
Growing collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly by typing a concept into the search box. Much of the content is accessible online. Bookshelf is provided by the U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Searches of PubMed include the material in Bookshelf.

Find current information in magazine and journal articles and reports

Search for articles and reports using the following research databases and resources.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed citations often include links to the full-text article on the publishers' Web sites and/or in PubMed Central and the Bookshelf. [MEDLINE is the largest subset of PubMed. You may limit your PubMed search retrieval to MEDLINE citations by restricting your search to the MeSH controlled vocabulary or by using the Journal Categories filter called MEDLINE.]
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles on a broad range of topics and provides the complete text (text and graphics) of many of the articles it indexes. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.
Highwire: Library of the Sciences and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of many journals in medicine and science. HighWire Press, a division of Stanford University Libraries, partners with influential scholarly societies, university presses and publishers to create a collection of the finest, fully searchable research and clinical literature online. Together, these partners produce nearly half of the 200 most-frequently-cited journals publishing in science.

National Institutes of Health: Health Information
NIH web site provides reliable disease and health information to the public and to health professionals.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Provides data, statistics, and information on diseases and their prevention, including disease information for people traveling throughout the world.

Find facts & statistics about health, diseases, drug therapies, clinical trials, etc.

Find statistics and other factual information.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS is the primary Federal organization responsible for the collection, analyses, and dissemination of health statistics.
The intent of this site is to provide users access to the health information that NCHS produces.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Provides data, statistics, and information on diseases and their prevention, including disease information for people traveling throughout the world.
CDC: Health, United States
Annual report on trends in health statistics compiled by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC), National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Physicians Desk Reference: Drugs
The Physicians Desk Reference provides information about drugs used in medical care.
The free online edition is designed for consumers. Print edition is in Mundt Library is full physician's version; location in Library is REFERENCE RS 75 .P5
MedlinePlus: Drugs & Supplements
Drug information is provided to assist the public in locating "appropriate, authoritative health information." Provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH).
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Provided by the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Find definitions and overviews in medical dictionaries and encyclopedias about diseases and other health topics

Find overviews of diseases and health topics including symptoms, causes, and treatments.

MedlinePlus
Provides health articles for consumers (the general public) rather than peer-reviewed articles for professionals. Browse an alphabetic list of "Health Topics" or use the search box to search for articles. This resource is designed to assist the public in locating "appropriate, authoritative health information sources," with emphasis on information available from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
HealthFinder
HealthFinder is a U.S. federal government website that provides high quality health information for consumers. It includes a browseable "Health A-to-Z" which is an encyclopedia of diseases, syndromes, etc.
Mayo Clinic Health Information
For consumers ( so more understandable by the general public) Mayo Clinic provides this browseable and searchable set of articles on various health conditions, including symptoms and treatment.
Merck Manual: Home Health Handbook
A "home" medical encyclopedia that provides information about diseases (symptoms, diagnosis, treatment) and drugs. Provided by reputable publisher Merck.