Karl Mundt Library: Health Information Administration Research Guide: Research health information management topics

Introduction

This page will lead you to sources for finding credible information on health information management.

Continue below for these four (4) sections:

Find in-depth information in monographs (books) and find non-print material such as videos, audios, software, and multimedia.

Find current information in magazine and journal articles and reports.

Find federal and state rules and regulations, statutory law, and case law.

Find definitions, facts, statistics

The lock symbol Lock symbol indicates that Library ID and password must be used to login when off the Madison campus. indicates that access is restricted to students, faculty and staff of Dakota State University.

Find in-depth information in monographs (books) and find non-print material such as videos, audios, software, and multimedia

Find books and e-books with the following research databases.

The first research database will also lead to video and audio materials.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog is an index or database of items that the Mundt Library owns or to which the Mundt Library subscribes. Use this database to find books, e-ebooks, videos, CDs and DVDs, and print magazines and journals. If you are accessing the library catalog from off-campus, log in with DSU Network Username and password.

Bookshelf
Growing collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly by typing a concept into the search box. Much of the content is accessible online. Bookshelf is provided by the U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Searches of PubMed include the material in Bookshelf.

Find current information in magazine and journal articles and reports

Search for articles & reports using the following databases or websites.

SPECIAL NOTE: Not every health database will index the key journals for health information management. Your key professional journal Journal of AHIMA and other core professional journals (for example, Joint Commission Perspectives and Hospitals and Health Networks) may be found by searching PubMed.

Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed citations often include links to the full-text article on the publishers' Web sites and/or in PubMed Central and the Bookshelf. [MEDLINE is the largest subset of PubMed. You may limit your PubMed search retrieval to MEDLINE citations by restricting your search to the MeSH controlled vocabulary or by using the Journal Categories filter called MEDLINE.]
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles on a broad range of topics and provides the complete text (text and graphics) of many of the articles it indexes. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.

AHIMA publications online
Web site provides access to articles and reports in "Journal of AHIMA" (including practice briefs, coding notes, plugged in, etc.) and other AHIMA publications. NOTE: Explore the "HIM Trends and Topics" tab at top
CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
Web site provides statistics, reports and regulatory news (including links to rules & proposed rules in Federal Register) on Medicare, Medicaid & Child Health Insurance Programs. CMS is the federal agency that administers the Medicare, Medicaid and Child Health Insurance Programs.For regulations for different types of facilities such as Ambulatory Surgical, Home Health Agencies, etc., link to "Regulations and Guidance" and scan down to find the section "Provider Type."
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 18,000 health care organizations in the United States, including hospitals, health care networks, managed care organizations, and health care organizations that provide home care, long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory, and ambulatory care services. It publishes standards, etc.

Find federal and state rules and regulations, statutory law, and case law.

Find legal information

To successfully find legal information, you will need to select research databases and sources appropriate for finding the legal information you need. This means choosing a resource that provides the correct:

1. category of law (regulatory, judicial, or statutory)

Regulatory law = rules and regulations developed by governmental agencies and departments in order for them to carry out the laws passed by legislatures.
Judicial law = case law, that is laws arising from decisions made in courts.
Statutory law = laws enacted by legislatures.

2. level of government (federal or state)

Links to these legal research tools are further below:

For Federal REGULATIONS, use the following:

Code of Federal Regulations
Federal Register.
LexisNexis Academic includes the content of both the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register. Use the "search by content type" dropdown menu to select "Federal Statutes & Regulations."
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) website provides links to health care regulatory information published in the Federal Register and elsewhere. On the CMS website, choose "Regulations & Guidance."

For State REGULATIONS, use the following:

LexisNexis Academic includes the content of South Dakota Administrative Rules and South Dakota Register. In LexisNexis use the "search by content type" dropdown menu to select "State Statutes & Regulations."
Legislative Research Council of the South Dakota Legislature. For rules and regulations, choose "Administrative Rules" and find rules using either the "Rules Search" or "Rules List."

For Federal CASE LAW, use:

LexisNexis Academic. Use the "search by content type" dropdown menu to select "Federal & State Cases"

For State CASE LAW, use:

LexisNexis Academic. Use the "search by content type" dropdown menu to select "Federal & State Cases"

For Federal STATUTORY LAW, use:

LexisNexis Academic. Use the "search by content type" dropdown menu to select "Federal Statutes & Regulations."
{Note: statutory laws may be found as "Public Laws" (that is, found by public law number which is a consecutive numbering system of laws during a given legislative session) or in the "U.S. Code" (that is, found in the codified laws in which laws related to a particular topic are grouped together}.

For State STATUTORY LAW, use:

LexisNexis Academic. Use the "search by content type" dropdown menu to select "State Statutes & Regulations."
Legislative Research Council of the South Dakota Legislature. For statutory law, choose "Laws."

LexisUni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides complete text of articles and other publications related to U.S. law, business, and news. Use the "Search by Content Type" dropdown menu above the search box to select the type of information you need. LexisNexis is recommended for legal research, because it provides judicial (court cases), statutory (legislative), and administrative (rules and regulations) law as well as law reviews. LexisNexis also provides company profiles and other business information useful in business research.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The CFR codifies (arranges numerically) the detailed rules and regulations used for carrying out the laws passed by the U. S. Congress. These regulations are devised by federal departments and agencies. So, the CFR is a comprehensive collection of all the rules and regulations in effect in the various agencies of the U.S. Government. Rules first appear in the daily publication called the Federal Register. After being finalized, they are incorporated into the CFR. Therefore, after searching the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), search the Federal Register for any new or changed federal rules that have not yet been added to the CFR.
Federal Register (FR)
Use the Federal Register (FR) to find new federal regulations that have been proposed or that have been published in final form in the Federal Register but have not yet been added to the Code of Federal Regulations. Rules and regulations are devised by federal departments and agencies to carry out the laws passed by the U.S. Congress. FR provides the text of proposed, final, interim, and temporary rules and is published daily, Monday - Friday. Provided by the U.S. Government Printing Office.
CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
Web site provides statistics, reports and regulatory news (including links to rules & proposed rules in Federal Register) on Medicare, Medicaid & Child Health Insurance Programs. CMS is the federal agency that administers the Medicare, Medicaid and Child Health Insurance Programs.For regulations for different types of facilities such as Ambulatory Surgical, Home Health Agencies, etc., link to "Regulations and Guidance" and scan down to find the section "Provider Type."
Legislative Research Council (South Dakota)
The Legislative Research Council of the South Dakota Legislature provides administrative rules and statutory laws. For rules and regulations, choose "Administrative Rules" and find rules using either the "Rules Search" or "Rules List." For statutory law, choose "Laws."

Find definitions, facts, statistics

Statistics and Other Information about Hospitals and Physicians

The following sources provide a range of factual information and statistics about hospitals and physicians

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Has a "Research Tools & Data" section that includes MEPS (Medical Expenditure Panel Survey), HCUP (Healthcare Cost &
Utilization Project), HCUPnet ( Interactive Tool for Hospital Statistics), HIV & AIDS Costs & Use, and more. HCUPnet is a
tool for identifying, tracking, analyzing, and comparing statistics on hospitals at the national, regional, and State level. AHRQ is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
AMA Doctor Finder
This directory contains information on virtually every licensed physician in the United States (and its possessions), including more than 650,000 doctors of medicine (MD) and doctors of osteopathy or osteopathic medicine (DO).
All physician credential data have been verified for accuracy and authenticated by accrediting agencies, medical schools,
residency training programs, licensing and certifying boards, and other data sources.
American Board of Medical Specialties
This directory may be used to verify the certification status of any physician certified by one or more of the 24 member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). Click on "Is Your Doctor Certified."
HRET: Health Research & Educational Trust
Provides information about hospitals, health care agencies, quality/cost/disparities, data analysis, payment reform, and much more.
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 18,000 health care organizations in the United States, including hospitals, health care networks, managed care organizations, and health care organizations that provide home care, long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory, and ambulatory care services. It publishes standards, etc.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS is the primary Federal organization responsible for the collection, analyses, and dissemination of health statistics.
The intent of this site is to provide users access to the health information that NCHS produces.

PRINT SOURCES IN LIBRARY:

AHA Guide to the Healthcare Field by American Hospital Association
Call Number: RA977.A1 A46
Publication Date: annual
For individual hospitals in the U.S., this print book provides statistics (number of beds, outpatient visits, admissions, etc.), types of services offered, control structure (corporation, not-for-profit, etc.) addresses, licensure, and more information. The book is organized by state and then by city. Hospitals are listed within each city. Note: Distance students may request the Library to copy and email specific sections.
AHA Hospital Statistics
Call Number: RA981.A2 A6234
Publication Date: annual
This is a compilation of data compiled from AHA Annual Survey of Hospitals and is a print book in the Mundt Library. Note: Distance students may request the Library to copy and email specific sections.