Karl Mundt Library: History: Find Articles and Books

Searching for Articles

Full text articles are a great way to conduct research on history. The following databases are places to start your search for articles.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles in magazines, journals & newspapers on a broad range of subjects and provides the complete (text and graphics) of many of the articles. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles on a broad range of topics and provides the complete text (text and graphics) of many of the articles it indexes. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ maintains a list of open access journals – journals that don’t charge for access. While quality control is a requirement of inclusion in DOAJ, it may be through either peer review or editorial review. So after identifying potential open access journals in which to publish, you’ll need to check submission guidelines on journal websites to find out the type of review.
Publishing in an open access journal is a choice some researchers consider to be socially responsible because it makes scholarly work available to many, not the few who can afford it, and because libraries/universities aren’t paying for access to material that was created by their own universities’ scholars. Some disciplines – e.g., medicine and sciences -- have moved more quickly to this publication model in which, after acceptance through a peer review process, the author’s institution or the author pays a standard rate or page charge (one time only). Differentiating non-selective “vanity presses” from legitimate peer-reviewed publications with page charges is important.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journal articles using Google Scholar. If the link to the item does not provide the full article, return to the results list and see if there is a link off to the right side of the item. Links in that location typically lead to a copy of the full article.

Searching for Books

Books can be used to find an in-depth look at a topic. In order to find both physical and e-books related to animation, you can use the Library Catalog.

If you find a book that you would like to read, and we do not have access through the library feel free to request it using the form at Interlibrary Loan. This free service provides you with the chance to read an unlimited number of books.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog is an index or database of items that the Mundt Library owns or to which the Mundt Library subscribes. Use this database to find books, e-ebooks, videos, CDs and DVDs, and print magazines and journals. If you are accessing the library catalog from off-campus, log in with DSU Network Username and password.

Interlibrary Loan
InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a great resource to access articles and borrow materials (books / DVDs / full magazines) that DSU does not hold.