Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Films and Movies
Free video courses from leading universities. ”… easily find, interact with, and learn from full video courses and lectures from the world’s leading scholars. Our goal is to bring the best content together in one place”
“Annenberg Media uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers.”
British Universities Film & Video Council, Moving Images Gateway
This Gateway includes over 1,000 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas. Search or browse by topic to find film sources; some sources providing free streamed video; others are selling access or dvds.
Many film clips and some full episodes of shows available.
Internet Archive Moving Picture Archive
“…library of free movies, films, and videos…. contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.”
Library of Congress Digital Collections
“gateway to a growing treasury of digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, as well as "born digital" materials such as Web sites.”
See also: Library of Congress YouTube site -- http://www.youtube.com/loc
Macaulay Archive of Animal Sounds and Video
“The world’s largest archives of animal sounds and video”
Museum of Broadcast Communications
[Registration is required for access to the Archives for radio/tv news, commercials, and images.] “More than 7,000 digitized TV and radio programs are available … for public viewing in the MBC archives.” Although it takes some digging, use the Education and Exhibition tabs on the home page to find additional content. For example, “docufest” in the Education tab leads to documentaries. Explore categories in the Exhibitions tab such as “The holidays on the air” – where you can click on a link to Bing Crosby and then find links to a few shows to watch.
National Geographic Video
Video documentaries from the National Geographic Society on plants, animals, environment, energy, space and more.
“Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools.”
Free educational and cultural media on the web. “We sift through all the media, highlight the good and jettison the bad, and centralize it in one place. Trust us, you’ll find engaging content here that will keep you learning and sharp. And you will find it much more efficiently than if you spend your time searching with Google, Yahoo or iTunes.”
70 Signs of Intelligent Life at Youtube
Open Culture selects “enriching/educational videos from media outlets, cultural institutions, universities and non-profits.
Smithsonian Video Archive
“Exploring modern and historic perspectives on the arts, sciences, nature, world culture and travel, including videos…”
“The SnagFilms website was launched in 2008. It aims to provide free access to full length documentary films from a range of sources including independent film makers.”
UbuWeb: Film & Video
“Dozens of avant-garde films & videos”
Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042