Karl Mundt Library: ENGL 201: Citation Styles MLA & APA

Introduction

This page provides links to style sheets for citation styles. Style sheets provide examples of how to cite print books and articles, e-books, articles in online databases, articles on the web, web pages, etc.

Your course instructors will typically require you to use a specific publication/citation style such as MLA, APA or IEEE. Use the citation style recommended by your professor. If no style is recommended, choose one style and stick to it. Consistency is key, so don't mix styles in a bibliography.

Each style has its own rules, so you will need to know what those rules are. Visit our Citation Style guide for help using APA, MLA, AMA, IEEE, legal, scientific, and oral presentation citations and formats.

MLA Citation Style Guides

MLA Citation

The following sources provide assistance and examples of the Modern Language Association (MLA) style.

Best starting point on the Web for citation examples:

Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format
By Purdue University Online Writing Lab, this guide provides examples for citing print, electronic and other types of sources, based on the most recent edition of the MLA Handbook.

Additional MLA Guides (in print in library):

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: REFERENCE LB2369 .G53
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-22
The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index.

Additional citation examples on the web, if needed:

MLA Style Center
The MLA Style Center offers free online resources on MLA style, including an interactive MLA format template, answers to common questions on Ask the MLA, advice from the MLA editors, and more.
Citing Websites in MLA 9th and APA 7th Edition (Video)
Citations are used as a way for the readers of your work to know where you retrieved your information. Given the fact that URLs change consistently, it is not enough to just use that as your citation. You must also include information such as the author, date, source, and title. APA 7th Edition instructions start at 4:53.
How to Cite Generative AI (ChatGPT) in MLA Style
Follow this link for examples and more information.

APA Citation Style Guides

APA Citation

The sources listed below provide assistance and examples of the APA style.

Best starting point on the Web for citation examples:

Using APA Format
Includes both textual and electronic examples. By Purdue University's Writing Lab.

APA provides the following sources:

Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: REFERENCE : BF76.7 .P83
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing.

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
The style and grammar guidelines pages present information about APA Style as described in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition and the Concise Guide to APA Style, Seventh Edition.
APA Instructional Aids
Tutorials & webinars, handouts & guides, and sample papers to answer your questions about APA Style.
Citing Websites in MLA 9th and APA 7th Edition (Video)
Citations are used as a way for the readers of your work to know where you retrieved your information. Given the fact that URLs change consistently, it is not enough to just use that as your citation. You must also include information such as the author, date, source, and title. APA 7th Edition instructions start at 4:53.
How to Cite Generative AI (ChatGPT) in ALA Style
Non-retrievable information is cited as personal communication, but generative AI is not a person. When citing AI-generated content in your work, cite the creator of the tool as the author. Follow this link for more information and examples.

Citing Websites in MLA 9th and APA

Video length: 7:55

Transcript-Citing Websites in MLA & APA Format