Skip to Main Content
HOME
STAFF HOURS POLICIES FAQ
CATALOG CITATIONS ENDNOTE INTER-LIBRARY LOAN OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
ARCHIVES BEADLE SCHOLAR COURSE AND RESEARCH GUIDES DATABASES JOURNALS
Link to Library Homepage

Citation Guide

Provides help in citing sources using the various citation styles required in courses. Includes APA, MLA, and other citation styles.

About EndNote

EndNote is reference management software that enables you to collect, organize, share, and cite resources you find for your research. EndNote will help you: 

  • Keep all your references and reference-related materials in a searchable personal library.
  • Synchronize your references between up to three personal computers, an EndNote Web library and your iPad or iPhone through the EndNote Sync command. (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)
  • Set up a sharing team to grant access to your designated synced library and effortlessly collaborate with up to 400 co-authors and colleagues.
  • Cite your references in word processor documents to create formatted citations, bibliographies or independent reference lists.
Why use EndNote?

EndNote provides a way to manage citations and keep track of important resources you find along your research journey.

Using EndNote will enable you to retrieve research sources when compiling the final project. 

EndNote is a useful tool because it allows you to export citations:

  1. within the text of a paper (in-text citations)
  2. to a bibliography in the citation style you select

When Working with EndNote

You can create individual folders for each research project that you are working on and save citations to various folders.

Dakota State University students, faculty, and staff can use EndNote for free as part of the Mundt Library's subscription to Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) databases.

Getting Started with EndNote

EndNote is available for you to use in a web browser and as a desktop application.

Your references are synced between the EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online applications so you can use EndNote across devices. This guide will help you get the most out of this citation manager. 

  • First time users of EndNote should click Start Here for instructions to create an account, and download, install, and set up EndNote.
  • Visit Using & Upgrading EndNote Desktop to find tutorials for working with EndNote, special instructions for iPad & iPhone users, and tips for adding EndNote to Google Scholar.
  • View Writing with EndNote to see how EndNote works with Word and Google Docs for ease of citing while writing.