Karl Mundt Library: BIO 303: Find resources

Find overviews and definitions

The research databases below include encyclopedias for overviews and dictionaries for definitions, and can be used to get overviews of topics. Encyclopedic sources are good starting points for topics about which you know very little. Their articles provide a "big picture" of the topic, including key issues, questions, people, etc. With that knowledge, you can move on to narrow your topic and to better understand how narrow topics covered by journal articles fit into the big picture.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search this large collection of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and related sources to find overviews and brief explanations of topics from a wide range of subjects.

Find books and videos

The research database described here is designed to find items in libraries such as: books, edited volumes with chapters by various authors, handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, videos, etc.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog is an index or database of items that the Mundt Library owns or to which the Mundt Library subscribes. Use this database to find books, e-ebooks, videos, CDs and DVDs, and print magazines and journals. If you are accessing the library catalog from off-campus, log in with DSU Network Username and password.

Find Journal articles

Use the research databases below to locate articles published in magazines and journals. Articles in research databases for undergraduates typically range from popular magazine articles to very scholarly journal articles in order to address undergraduates' differing assignments. Each database below covers all subjects in a single database.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles on a broad range of topics and provides the complete text (text and graphics) of many of the articles it indexes. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles in magazines, journals & newspapers on a broad range of subjects and provides the complete (text and graphics) of many of the articles. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides citations and abstracts for articles published in highly cited journals and across a broad range of subjects/topics. Use the "Links" button associated with each article to find out if the full article is available online through the Mundt Library and to connect to the full article. This very scholarly resource includes the Web of Science Core Collection (Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Index Expanded), BIOSIS Preview, Current Contents, Medline, and SciELO. The Web of Science Core Collection and SciELO provide the ability to do citation searching as well as the more usual keyword searching for articles. Citation searching allows you to find later articles that have cited an important earlier article. This is the reverse of the often-used technique of using article bibliographies to find earlier key articles. By doing a citation search for a key article, you find any more recently published articles that have cited that key article.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journal articles using Google Scholar. If the link to the item does not provide the full article, return to the results list and see if there is a link off to the right side of the item. Links in that location typically lead to a copy of the full article.