Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals will be some of the most commonly used resources for you as you conduct research. The following databases will be a good starting point to find articles related to biology.
Indexes and abstracts journal articles on a broad range of topics and provides the complete text (text and graphics) of many of the articles it indexes. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources
Indexes and abstracts articles in magazines, journals & newspapers on a broad range of subjects and provides the complete (text and graphics) of many of the articles. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.
Web of Science provides citations and abstracts for articles published in highly cited journals and across a broad range of subjects/topics. Use the "Links" button associated with each article to find out if the full article is available online through the Mundt Library and to connect to the full article. This very scholarly resource includes the Web of Science Core Collection (Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Index Expanded), BIOSIS Preview, Current Contents, Medline, and SciELO. The Web of Science Core Collection and SciELO provide the ability to do citation searching as well as the more usual keyword searching for articles. Citation searching allows you to find later articles that have cited an important earlier article. This is the reverse of the often-used technique of using article bibliographies to find earlier key articles. By doing a citation search for a key article, you find any more recently published articles that have cited that key article.
Find scholarly journal articles using Google Scholar. If the link to the item does not provide the full article, return to the results list and see if there is a link off to the right side of the item. Links in that location typically lead to a copy of the full article.
Life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents. BIOSIS Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal content, from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). This Web of Knowledge database includes such subjects as pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and environmental and consumer issues.
Provides citations and abstracts of articles in journals (and some complete articles) and is THE premier database for health professionals. Covers health services research including clinical (emphasizing the evaluation of patient outcomes and the effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services, and processes) and non-clinical (emphasizing health care administration, economics, planning, and policy) aspects of health care delivery.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed citations often include links to the full-text article on the publishers' Web sites and/or in PubMed Central and the Bookshelf. [MEDLINE is the largest subset of PubMed. You may limit your PubMed search retrieval to MEDLINE citations by restricting your search to the MeSH controlled vocabulary or by using the Journal Categories filter called MEDLINE.]