Karl Mundt Library: Game Design Resources: Find Library Resources

Searching for Tutorials

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning provides high quality software training videos. Training courses include video tutorials on such subjects as Photoshop, Flash, Dreamweaver, Illustrator, Office, digital photography, Web design, digital video, and many others.

If you are a new user to LinkedIn Learning, click this link and create your LinkedIn Learning account. You have the ability to connect your DSU provided LinkedIn Learning account with your personal LinkedIn Professional Profile - this will allow you to show the courses, certificates, and skills completed on LinkedIn Learning.

If you are ever prompted to pay, STOP and email reference@dsu.edu.

LinkedIn Learning has courses related to Game Design.

If you're an animator, there are several courses from beginner to advanced on Maya, Blender, Adobe Animate, ZBrush, and many more!

Not into animation? There are courses in music composition, garage band, music production, Ableton Live, REAKTOR, and so much more.

Searching for Books

Books can be used to find an in-depth look at a topic. In order to find both physical and e-books related to animation, you can use the Library Catalog.

If you find a book that you would like to read, and we do not have access through the library feel free to request it using the form at Interlibrary Loan. This free service provides you with the chance to read an unlimited number of books.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog is an index or database of items that the Mundt Library owns or to which the Mundt Library subscribes. Use this database to find books, e-ebooks, videos, CDs and DVDs, and print magazines and journals. If you are accessing the library catalog from off-campus, log in with DSU Network Username and password.

Interlibrary Loan
InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a great resource to access articles and borrow materials (books / DVDs / full magazines) that DSU does not hold.

Searching for Articles

Full text articles are a great way to conduct research on game design.
The following databases are places to start your search for articles.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles in magazines, journals & newspapers on a broad range of subjects and provides the complete (text and graphics) of many of the articles. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) provides full-text articles in this database about computing. It includes: ACM journals and magazines, ACM proceedings by subject, ACM proceedings by sponsor, ACM proceedings by series, journals and magazines by affiliated publishers, and resources from affiliated organizations.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles on a broad range of topics and provides the complete text (text and graphics) of many of the articles it indexes. Aimed at undergraduates, it provides scholarly journal articles along with articles from popular, technical/trade, and substantial news sources.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search citations/abstracts and get fulltext of materials that are part of the library's subscription to the IEEE IEL research database -- which includes publications of IEEE (Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers) and IET (Institution of Engineering & Technology).
LexisUni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides complete text of articles and other publications related to U.S. law, business, and news. Use the "Search by Content Type" dropdown menu above the search box to select the type of information you need. LexisNexis is recommended for legal research, because it provides judicial (court cases), statutory (legislative), and administrative (rules and regulations) law as well as law reviews. LexisNexis also provides company profiles and other business information useful in business research.