Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty/Staff: Tips from the Library: E-books

Provides tips about library resources and services for all staff. Also includes library resources for teaching and research such as copyright, selecting a publisher, and textbook alternatives.

E-book Options -- Summarized

The Library's main e-book platforms (databases) are described more completely in other sections below. However, this section provides a brief synopsis of content and any limitations on simultaneous use.

Multidisciplinary

  • eBook Collection (EBSCO) - academic content on a wide range of topics. No limit on simultaneous users of eBook Collection; no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - academic content on a wide range of topics. No limit on simultaneous users of GVRL; no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book.

Business

  • Business Expert Press - curriculum-based e-books for students and entrepreneurs in business and management programs. No limit on simultaneous users of eBook Collection; no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book

Information Systems & Security

  • InfoSECURITYnetBASE - academic content on information security. No limit on simultaneous users; no limit on simultaneous uses of the same e-book
  • IGI Global - academic content on information security, health informatics, and information systems. No limit on simultaneous users; no limit on simultaneous uses of the same e-book
  • O'Reilly for Higher Education

Popular fiction and non-fiction

  • Overdrive - popular reading collection of fiction and non-fiction. No limit on simultaneous users of Overdrive; limited to one user of an e-book at a time (item is "checked out" to the user so is unavailable to other users during the checkout period)

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

EBSCO's eBook Collection contains a wide range of both scholarly and leisure reading containing:

  • food
  • true-crime
  • biographies
  • children and young adult fiction & non-fiction
  • mind, body, and spirit

EBSCO e-books FAQS:

What is the range of publication?  Through present day

How many e-books are in the collection?   EBSCO provides access to over 215,000 e-books.

Are there limits on simultaneous users? Nope!

Can I read the full-text in my browser? Yep!


Can I download the e-book to my computer/tablet/phone?

Yes! BUT the "Full text" option is MUCH easier to use, compared to the laborious process of  downloading the book, especially if several people in a class need access. 

Can I create create a permanent URL for the book? YES! See below:

 

 

  • Use the "permanent url" link on the right side of the book screen to get permanent url for any page such as beginning of book, beginning of chapter,or a page within a chapter

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library logo

CONTENT.  Academic content on a wide range of topics, with recent purchases for Marketing classes and for Cybersecurity. Find books related to Marketing and Business in the "Social Sciences" category and in the "Business" category. Find ebooks on Cybersecurity in the "Technology" category.

HOW TO FIND. Use one of these two methods:

  • Go to the "Gale Virtual Reference Library" by selecting it in the "Database Quicklinks" dropdown menu on the library home page.

DIRECT URL:

PUBLICATION YEARS.   Through present

NUMBER OF E-BOOKS.  Hundreds, with a heavy focus on business/marketing and on cybersecurity.

LIMITS ON SIMULTANEOUS USERS OF THE PLATFORM?  No limit

LIMITS ON SIMULTANEOUS USERS OF AN E-BOOK?   No limit.  

READ FULL TEXT IN YOUR WEB BROWSER?    Yes.

DOWNLOAD TO DEVICE?     No.

CREATE PERMANENT URLS FOR DIRECT LINKS TO E-BOOKS OR E-BOOK PARTS.

  • First, get a URL for the item.  Click on the "Bookmark" button near the top of the GVRL screen to get a url for the page being displayed.
    • Get a URL for an entire ebook by going to the first page of the ebook (table of contents) and clicking on the Bookmark button
    • Get a bookmark for a chapter by going to the first page of the chapter and clicking on the Bookmark button.
  • Second, examine the URL.  In order for off-campus users can access the link,  the URL must begin:
    http://www.ezproxy.dsu.edu:2048/login?url= 

If it doesn't, you must add the above URL to the front of the bookmark URL.  As an example, a completed URL would look like this:

      http://www.ezproxy.dsu.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX2592400020&v=2.1&u=sdln_dsu&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=7b31432634f3ba03efaf58060d27aaac

InfoSecurityNetBase

infosecuritynetbasecrcnetbase

CONTENT.  Academic content about information security.

HOW TO FIND. Use one of these two methods, because these books are not in Library Catalog:

  •     Use the "Database Quicklinks" dropdown menu on the library home page to select InfoSECURITYnetBASE.

DIRECT URL:

NUMBER OF BOOKS.  approximately 75

  • 25% of chapters published in most recent two years.
  • 97% of chapters published 2000-present

LIMITS ON SIMULTANEOUS USERS OF THE PLATFORM?    No limit

LIMITS ON SIMULTANEOUS USERS OF AN E-BOOK?   No limit  

READ FULL TEXT IN YOUR WEB BROWSER?    Yes.

DOWNLOAD TO DEVICE?    Individual chapters are pdfs that can be saved to a device.

CREATE PERMANENT URLS FOR DIRECT LINKS TO E-BOOKS OR E-BOOK PARTS.  Follow this procedure:

  1. In search results, select a chapter to view.
  2. Before opening the full document pdf, find the "Permalink" button at the bottom and click to display the permanent url for that chapter
  3. Delete the chapter number at the end of that url to get the permanent url for the entire book.  
  • For example:  http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/9781439815519.ch13 is the permanent url for a chapter. The permanent url of the book in which the chapter is contained is http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/9781439815519
  • For example:  http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/EBK1439819029-p3  is the permanent url for a part of a book. The permanent url of the book in which it is contained is http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/EBK1439819029

Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042
605-256-5203