Karl Mundt Library: EXS 145: Research Databases

Find Journal Articles

The following databases are best bets for finding SCHOLARLY ARTICLES for your literature reviews for research in exercise science.

Physical Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers topics in physical fitness, health, and sports medicine. Provides abstracts of journal articles and and access to some full articles.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed citations often include links to the full-text article on the publishers' Web sites and/or in PubMed Central and the Bookshelf. [MEDLINE is the largest subset of PubMed. You may limit your PubMed search retrieval to MEDLINE citations by restricting your search to the MeSH controlled vocabulary or by using the Journal Categories filter called MEDLINE.]

Additional health and wellness articles may be found in these databases:

Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides health information written for the general public that has been published in magazines and journals.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines with information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

Professional articles related to physical education may be found here:

ERIC in EBSCOHOST This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and other documents in the field of education and is the premier database for education professionals. Journal articles are assigned identifier numbers that begin EJ, and documents are assigned identifiers that begin with ED. Many of the full articles are available in the search results.

Search the Library Catalog

Find a Journal - gets you to all of the journals to which the Library subscribes. We pay for the journal access and you get access for free.
- The link to the Journal search engine can be found on the Library's navigation menu under Research.
- You search by journal title in order to find a journal. Once you arrived at the journal, you then located the specific article that was needed.
Google Scholar - gets you to journal articles that are available without subscription on the Internet (and may get some subscription material via methods too complicated to explain here).
- When searching Google Scholar, search for the specific item (e.g. article) you need. You do not search by journal title.
- You search with an author's name combined with keywords in the article title. Or you might do an exact search for the article title by putting quote marks around the title.
Interlibrary Loan - is a solution for getting full articles that you cannot find for free using Journal Finder or Google Scholar.
- Interlibrary loan allows you to request items which we will get from another library for you.
- This is a free service although the time to get the item varies.