Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Guides: Intro to LinkedIn Learning

This guide provides descriptions of and instructions for using various Mundt Library research databases.

Quick intro to LinkedIn Learning

INSTRUCTIONS FOR ACCESS

Lynda.com is now LinkedIn Learning!

Navigate through the library or directly to LinkedIn Learning

Tracking Progress: "Course history" and "Certificates of Completion"

Tracking your progress in LinkedIn Learning

 

Track your progress through a course by clicking "My Learning" icon

 


"In Progress" will show the various courses you are in the process of completing.


"Learning History" allows you to see your certificates of completion.

 

How to Use Collections

  • Collections allow you to curate your own content, like a playlist, where you can add videos and complete courses from all areas of LinkedIn Learning into one place.

 

  • Within courses, you can save individual sections - simply hover the section you are interested in saving and click the bookmark symbol.

 

  • You can add these video clips to collections by first clicking the "My Learning" book icon, then selecting "Saved."

 

  • Select the collection you want by clicking "add."

linkedin Learning

LinkedIn Learning

  • Content to get you ahead!
    • LinkedIn Learning gives you exclusive access to more than 10,000 courses and tutorials in the areas of design, business, and technology.
  • User-friendly course library:
    • The course library is divided by subject, software, and learning paths, which makes it easy to find courses that interest you.
  • Personalized recommendations:
    • You will now be able to connect your LinkedIn Learning account to your personal LinkedIn account, and get more personalized course recommendations based on your job and industry.
  • Ability to display achievements:
    • Connecting your Learning account with your personal LinkedIn account allows you to display the courses that you have completed.
  • Ability save courses for later:
    • You can plan your learning by saving individual courses or adding courses to collections on specific topics.

LinkedIn Learning: The Basics

1. There is a menu at the top that says "Browse" click this and a menu like the one to the right will appear.

2. Within LinkedIn Learning, videos are organized in three unique ways:

  1. Subjects - are broad topics covering subjects such as online education, user experience, and photography. Videos and courses within this column will be broad, so you can explore what the subject might contain. For example, the Photography subject gives you videos on: Photoshop, Camera Raw, iPhone, Bridge, and After Effects.
  2. Software - videos in this column are for certain software ex: excel, Photoshop, MySQL, and Python.
  3. Learning Paths - this column features curated courses that help you achieve a goal like, "Become a Python Developer," or "Become a Video Editor." Learning paths offer a certificate when completed, that you can share on your LinkedIn site and put on your resume!

A look inside a LinkedIn Learning course

Features within the Course

Each course has a landing page, like the one below, featuring an achievable certificate, exercise files, a brief overview, and learning objectives.

 


 

Transcrips within the course

Every video has a transcript that you can utilize if you are in a space where you can't use audio, or if you need to ensure you understand the speaker. 

 

Creating Collections in LinkedIn Learning

Creating and sharing collections

⇒What used to be known as a "playlist" in Lynda, is now called a "collection."

Quick intro:

A "collection" can be used to keep a list of courses and videos that you plan to complete, or share with others.

B. Faculty can develop customized learning paths for their students by creating a "collection" of videos. They can then share this collection with students via email, a D2L embed iFrame, and/or social media sites.

C. To view your current or shared collections, click the profile dropdown in top right of the page and click "Collections"


Creating collections

1. Find a course you are interested in taking.

2. Click "More"

3. Click "Add to collection"

4. To create a new collection, click the "plus" button.

4a. Give your collection a title and description, then poof! You have a beautiful new collection!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Add the course to a collection by clicking "add"

6. You will now see the new collection in your menu. **Notice the Collection title above the title**

 

Sharing collections in LinkedIn Learning

Sharing Collections:

LinkedIn Learning allows you to share Collections with colleagues and friends.

To do this, follow the directions below:

1. Find a collection you would like to share. When you open the collection, the menu below is on the far right side.

2. Click "share" and you will see the options to:

  • share with "all LinkedIn members" - this will allow anyone on LinkedIn to see this collection of content.
  • If you choose to share with members of "Dakota State University", all students at DSU will be able to see this video and content.
  • When you don't want others to see what you are working on, just select "ony visible to you"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. If you want a link to your collection, copy the code from the "share" window.   

 

Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042
605-256-5203