Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBook Databases - Descriptions & Instructions : Home

Describes content, access, number of simulataneous users, and other information about Mundt Library's ebook databases.

E-book Options -- Summarized

The Library's e-book platforms (databases) differ in the number of simultaneous users of the ebooks and subjects covered.    This page provides a brief synopsis of content and any limitations on simultaneous use. 

  • NOTE TO FACULTY: If you want to use Library ebooks for course readings, pay attention to the number of simultaneous users of an ebook that each ebook database allows.
     
  • Use the tabs at the top of this guide to get more information -- comprehensive and specific instructions for the databases described below.
     
  • Direct links to the e-book databases are at the bottom of this page and on the tabbed pages.
     

Ebook database content falls into the following categories:

Multidisciplinary

  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)  Detailed information & instructions
    • academic content on a wide range of topics;
    • no limit on simultaneous users of eBook Collection;
    • no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book
       
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)   Detailed information & instructions
    • academic content on a wide range of topics
    • no limit on simultaneous users of GVRL; 
    • no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book.  

Business

  • Business Expert Press
    • covers a range of business topics;
    • no limit on simultaneous users of GVRL;
    • no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book.  
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)  Detailed information & instructions
    • includes several e-books relevant to marketing assignments (browse social sciences as well as the business category in GVRL);
    • academic content on a wide range of topics;
    • no limit on simultaneous users of GVRL;
    • no limit on simultaneous uses of same e-book.  

Information Systems & Security

  • IGI-Global
    • academic content on information systems;
    • no limit on simultaneous users of InfoSECURITYnetBASE ;
    • no limit on simultaneous uses of the same e-book.
       
  • InfoSECURITYnetBASE   Detailed information & instructions
    • academic content on information security;
    • no limit on simultaneous users of InfoSECURITYnetBASE ;
    • no limit on simultaneous uses of the same e-book. 
       
  • Safari Tech Books Online  Detailed information & instructions
    • academic content on information systems;
    • limited to two simultaneous users of Safari Tech Books ; so limit of two simultaneous uses of the same e-book.  

Popular fiction and non-fiction

  • Overdrive Detailed information & instructions
    • popular reading collection of fiction and non-fiction;
    • includes ebooks and audiobooks; no limit on simultaneous users of Overdrive ;
    • use of an e-book is limited to one user at a time.    

DIRECT LINKS TO THE E-BOOK DATABASES:

Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042
605-256-5203