Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPCM 101

Activity 1.

GOAL.

   To help your classmates by introducing them to a useful resource! You are not being graded. RELAX and enjoy this activity. 

ACTIVITY.   Your group will:

  • be assigned a resource 
  • search for either “national parks” or skin in the resource
  • demonstrate the resource to the class 
  • have 15 minutes to prepare 
  • have 5 minutes to demonstrate: show a search and an example of the kind of material found.
  • answer these questions during the demonstration:
    1. How would this resource be helpful/useful for speech assignments? For your next speech assignment?
    2. What special features of the research database or its content might be most useful?
    3. Which kinds of material does a search of this research database produce? Books, magazine articles, encyclopedia articles, statistical sources, dictionary, other… ?
  • RELAX! Enjoy showing your classmates a resource that you know about and they don’t. 

RESOURCES ASSIGNED:

GROUP 1. CQ Researcher
          Get to CQ Researcher using the “Select a Database” dropdown menu in the middle of the Library’s home page.

GROUP 2. Opposing Viewpoints
          Get to Opposing Viewpoints using the “Select a Database” dropdown menu in the middle of the Library’s home page.

GROUP 3. Credo Reference
          Get to Credo Reference using the “Select a Database” dropdown menu in the middle of the Library’s home page.

GROUP 4. Gale Virtual Reference Library.
          Get to the Gale Virtual Reference Library using the “Select a Database” dropdown menu in the middle of the Library’s home page.

GROUP 5. Academic Search Premier
**Special instructions: in Academic Search Premier, use “search options” to limit your results to interviews. 
          Get to the Academic Search Premier using the “Select a Database” dropdown menu in the middle of the Library’s home page.

GROUP 6. Statista

Get to the Statista using the “Select a Database” dropdown menu in the middle of the Library’s home page.


        

Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042
605-256-5203