Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Respiratory Care Research Guide

Use this guide to find peer-reviewed articles on health and medicine.

Introduction

This page provides a list of research databases appropriate for finding peer-reviewed articles for medical topics. After linking to a research database, you will search by entering terms that describe your topic.

  • You will get better search results by using a few basic search techniques. To learn about these techniques, see the tab above labeled "Search Techniques."
  • Some research databases provide full articles. Some only provide citations and abstracts (summaries of articles). Some research databases provide a mix -- with some articles in full and some not (because a publisher will not allow the full article to be included in the database). When the full article is not in a database, you have some options for finding the full article. See the tab above labeled "Locate Full Article" for solutions to this dilemma.
  • If you have questions, do contact your librarian!

To find articles using research databases, continue to the "Find Journal Articles" box below.

Find Journal Articles

The lock symbol Lock symbol indicates that Library ID and password must be used to login when off the Madison campus. indicates that you will need to login with your DSU Library ID and password.

The research databases listed in this section are recommended for finding peer-reviewed journal articles about medical topics.

For most medical topics, start with Medline/Pubmed!

Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042
605-256-5203