Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library in Brief for Faculty & Staff: Good to Know - every year

The Library staff provides this checklist to update faculty and staff on library services related to teaching, research, work, and entertainment.

Getting Started

 Explore the Library's home page

The Library homepage is your path to research tools, services, and help.

 Explore research databases

The Library's research databases are critical for gathering credible articles and other materials for research assignments and research-based projects and papers. To explore the research databases provided by the Mundt Library:

Explore Course & Subject Research Guides

Research guides are designed to combine resources and research tips in a guide to help students do more effective and efficient research for courses and majors.

Learn how to find out if the Library subscribes to a specific journal

You can find out if the library has a specific journal or magazine. To find out if the library has the full content in print or online, search for the title of the journal or magazine in Journal Finder. If the journal is found, use the database link(s) for the journal to get to the journal. 

  • A link to Journal Finder is also on the Library's homepage in the Research QuickLinks box.

 Place links in your D2L course sites to direct students to the Library’s home page, research guides, and to librarians

Links will encourage your students to find and use library resources and services and will help emphasize the importance of doing quality, academic research rather than relying only on material provided by web search engines.  Encourage students to get research help by contacting librarians.

  • If you have questions about what links to use, contact the DSU Librarians (Mary Francis and Vaughan Hennen).

Consider whether your students have the skills and knowledge to carry out research assignments

  •     E-mail DSU Librarians or call librarians Mary Francis (605) 256-5845 or Vaughan Hennen (605) 256-7128 to schedule instruction         sessions.
  • Even if you are not scheduling instruction sessions with a librarian, please make librarians informed of those assignments, so we can best help students

 

Make use of Library Reserves to provide access to course readings.

  • Library materials (DVD's, books, etc) may be put on library reserve.
  • Personal copies may be put on library reserve
  • Library staff will assist in placing persistent URLS in your online courses to make readings available to your students 24/7
  • Streaming video is a popular technology for library reserves---contact Vaughan Hennen for details.
  • To learn about using article URLs on your web pages, e-mail DSU Librarians 
  • For more information about library Course Reserves, e-mail Montanna Barnett  or call her at 256-5205.

Support your own research

For assistance on setting up RSS feeds, literature reviews, or citation assistance, contact  librarians Mary Francis (605) 256-5845 or Vaughan Hennen (605) 256-7128. 

Request items that are unavailable online or in the Library

For Interlibrary Loan assistance,  contact Interlibrary Loan, or e-mail Montanna Barnett or call her at 605-256-5205.

Recommend library materials for courses or your research

  • Send your requests to Jan Brue Enright (Director of the Library) or call her at 605-256-5207

Reserve audiovisual equipment in advance

The Library has computer projectors, DVD players, digital cameras, digital video cameras, digital audio recorders, tripods, screens and more.  It is best to reserve equipment at least a week in advance.

  • To reserve equipment, e-mail Montanna Barnett (Public Services Associate), call her at (605)256-5205, or call the library front desk (605)256-5203.             

 Explore the Archives

The Archives offer unique primary materials. The Karl E. Mundt Archives contains the papers and other memorabilia of Karl E. Mundt who was elected in 1938 to the U.S. House of Representatives, where he served five terms and then served four terms as a U.S. Senator. The University Archives has memorabilia, yearbooks, photographs, and much more material documenting the history of Dakota State University.

  • For more information or to ask questions, email Ryan Burdge (Archivist), or call him at (605) 256-5211.

Escape!

For your well-balanced lifestyle...

         Find entertainment at the Library

Escape Collection - popular fiction and nonfiction. First floor of Library.

DVD Collection - popular and/or classic films. First floor of Library.

Overdrive - popular fiction and nonfiction. Online downloadable e-books. Use library ID and password for access.

Swank streaming videos---check it out!

sky and clouds

Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042
605-256-5203