Skip to main content

Don't Panic! The 2020 Pandemic LibGuide: Collections in LinkedIn Learning

This guide has all the resources you need to stay productive and keep your classes and research going!

Using Collections with in LinkedIn Learning

How to Use Collections

  • Collections allow you to curate your own content, like a playlist, where you can add videos and complete courses from all areas of LinkedIn Learning into one place.

 

  • Within courses, you can save individual sections - simply hover the section you are interested in saving and click the bookmark symbol.

 

  • You can add these video clips to collections by first clicking the "My Learning" book icon, then selecting "Saved."

 

  • Select the collection you want by clicking "add."

Sharing collections in LinkedIn Learning

Sharing Collections:

LinkedIn Learning allows you to share Collections with colleagues and friends.

To do this, follow the directions below:

1. Find a collection you would like to share. When you open the collection, the menu below is on the far right side.

2. Click "share" and you will see the options to:

  • share with "all LinkedIn members" - this will allow anyone on LinkedIn to see this collection of content.
  • If you choose to share with members of "Dakota State University", all students at DSU will be able to see this video and content.
  • When you don't want others to see what you are working on, just select "ony visible to you"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. If you want a link to your collection, copy the code from the "share" window.   

 

Creating Collections in LinkedIn Learning

Creating and sharing collections

⇒What used to be known as a "playlist" in Lynda, is now called a "collection."

Quick intro:

A "collection" can be used to keep a list of courses and videos that you plan to complete, or share with others.

B. Faculty can develop customized learning paths for their students by creating a "collection" of videos. They can then share this collection with students via email, a D2L embed iFrame, and/or social media sites.

C. To view your current or shared collections, click the profile dropdown in top right of the page and click "Collections"


Creating collections

1. Find a course you are interested in taking.

2. Click "More"

3. Click "Add to collection"

4. To create a new collection, click the "plus" button.

4a. Give your collection a title and description, then poof! You have a beautiful new collection!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Add the course to a collection by clicking "add"

6. You will now see the new collection in your menu. **Notice the Collection title above the title**

 

Karl E. Mundt Library, Dakota State University, Madison, South Dakota 57042
605-256-5203